jump to navigation

Who are you NOT to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous? October 23, 2006

Posted by greenlavender in Energy, Life, New age, Quotes, Spirituality.
trackback

“We ask ourselves who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?
Actually, who are you NOT to be?? You are a child of God.  Your playing small does NOT serve the world.  There is no-thing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We were born to manifest the Glory of God that is within us, ALL of us.  And as we let our Light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fears, our Presence automatically liberates others.”

Nelson Mandela 1994

Comments»

1. Ereek - October 23, 2006

Did Nelson Mandela really say “fabulous”? Well, as of right now, I solemnly swear to be fabulous in order to manifest the glory of God within me.
First act of fabulousness: I’m soooooo getting my nails done
ok, nuff silliness,
E

2. catherine - November 3, 2006

that would be funny, but actually marianne williamson said “fabulous”…
http://jmm.aaa.net.au/articles/4564.htm explains it if you scroll down!

3. rationalpsychic - February 3, 2008

Natasha,
You are a fascinating person. I hope it would be OK to add your site to my blogroll. I often get depressed. I practice vipassana meditation but I try to never turn down positive messages.

You have many to offer and I am grateful to you for that.

4. melanie Taylor - March 1, 2008

that quote is actually marianne faithfull not nelson mandela

5. Veronica Dowdy - March 29, 2008

The quote is not by Marianne Faithfull, it’s by Marianne Williamson, and it was part of her book titled “A Return to Love, Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles” and yes, Nelson Mandela did use it in his 1994 speech. I highly recommend it, it’s a beautiful book, written to lift your spirit and see yourself in God’s eyes, perfect, whole and complete. It’s also an easy read with an amazing healing power.

6. M Taylor - May 5, 2008

Yes, Marianne Williamson , I spaced out and mis-wrote!

7. mauricio - December 3, 2008

hola

8. India - November 28, 2009

I absolutly love this quote

9. Liam - March 30, 2010

Just wanted to share this story with people reading this quote, because it remindes me of this time in my life. It was during a bit of a “down” time in my life, and every day when I was walking home, one of the street lamps would turn off just as I passed under it. I became awear this was symbolism that my life was currently in the dark, but on the street, where I had come was light, adn… See More where I was going was light. Eventually, one day I realised, “I don’t have to live in darkness, because I, as a child of God, ALSO have light within. So I stood beneather the street lamp, raised my hands up, and it came back on. Many times in our life, we find ourselves in the darkness, but we need to realise, it’s an oppertunity to shine our own light in this world.
-Liam


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

