jump to navigation

Fear is our worst enemy October 3, 2006

Posted by greenlavender in Life, Personal.
trackback

I spent last night painting the walls in my finished basement. I took advantage of that solitude and repetitious activity to think. I found myself realizing that I am scared to death. To the point where I felt I was going to have an anxiety attack.

Everything is changing in my life. I am getting to know myself more and more each day. I have found what I love to do and want to do everyday. But yet, I am scared to do it.

Before going to bed, I opened my book “The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield at a random page; the chapter was about fear and how fear prevents us from doing what we are meant to do. Fear of what? We think we are afraid of poverty, not providing for our family, failing, etc. But in reality, it is the fear of success that prevents us the most from moving forward. After thinking about it, I have to agree. If I do what I know is meant for me and I am good at it, I fear I will truly have to prove myself, I will have to live up to my success.

Fear paralyzes us. It feeds on insecurity, the unknown.

Trust in your instinct, it’s never wrong. I repeat that every single day to help me move forward and ignore that deep fear I so want to get rid of.

Comments»

1. fluidspirit - November 7, 2006

you are so lucky that you know what you want. I keep sending the universe different messages and orders every day – ha ha ha!


Leave a Reply

