jump to navigation

We are all responsible for our own happiness. November 7, 2006

Posted by greenlavender in About a Medium, Energy, Life, New age, Personal, Spirituality.
trackback

Why do we blame others when we are unhappy? “My boss doesn’t appreciate me”, “my husband/wife doesn’t understand me”, “my father is not proud of me”… and I can go on and on. We also have a tendancy to blame things for our unhappiness: “god, the weather is terrible, I hate it”, “my house is too small”, “my car keeps breaking down”, and again I could go on and on.

We all have a choice. We have the ability to choose how we perceive people and things. We can all choose how to react to our feelings. If you feel hurt by something someone sayed to you, ask yourself: “was that person’s intention to hurt me?”. Chances are the answer is no. So why dwell on something that is not? Why do you feel hurt by that particular comment? The answer? Well, it could be many things: past experiences, lack of confidence, etc. So, that person is not really responsible for your unhappiness. If you choose to simply acknowledge that you feel hurt, then let it go without dwelling on it, you will feel much happier.

I used to complain about my job a lot (you can read that in my first posts), how I hated it: “my boss is not taking advantage of my skills” I kept saying. Well, things just got worse and worse. I decided to face the fact that I was choosing to blame my boss for my unhappiness and I started looking at the positive aspects of my job. What a change! I am super busy, I am doing really interesting things AND my boss is trusting me with bigger projects. So, my choice to take responsibility made me happy.  

Choosing to view (and accept) the positive, changes your life drastically. Try it, you just might like it! 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

