jump to navigation

Feeling Guilty About Wanting to Make More Money? February 1, 2008

Posted by greenlavender in Empowering, Healing, Health, Inspiration, Life, Love, New age, Personal, Spirituality.
trackback

I was. But I worked on it.

What are your beliefs about money? Do you feel like you’re not good enough to have a lot? Do you fear you will be looked at differently if you have money? Do you feel greedy to want more money?

I could write a hundred pages listing limiting beliefs about money. The point is, all of them are limiting. In the sense that those beliefs that are engraved in our bodies are preventing us from moving forward financially. Either preventing us from making more money or actually keeping it!

After I watched The Secret, I started thinking positively about money. Yes! That’s how I can do it!! So I actually ended up making more money, but I couldn’t keep it. I still had zero dollars in my bank account at the end of each month, without even spending more. I didn’t understand why this was happening. For a few years, I had been sensing that I will have lots of money, when I say lots, I mean ‘LOTS’. I was feeling guilty about that, and the bank account wasn’t following my gut (go figure!). So I came to the conclusion that I was full of it and that maybe I’m just not meant to have lots of money. Then things went downhill even more (I obviously attracted that…). Not only did I have $0 in my account, but I was starting to get into debts too. “I need help” I told myself. When you ask, the Universe responds…

I had been wanting to get some ‘life coaching’ from an amazing coach for a while. He coached me for my career for about an hour or two and I wanted more… I couldn’t afford it. But after asking The Universe for help, he contacted me and offered to coach me in exchange for my creative services! YES! YES! Absolutely YES! Please coach me on money!

After just an hour of coaching, I realized so much and kept opening my eyes to so many things in the weeks after. I was feeling guilty about wanting to have more money, mostly because of my beliefs, but also because I didn’t really know what I would do with that money. I asked myself “what would I do with a million dollars?”… I didn’t have an answer. Actually, the answer was “I don’t know”. Then why would I need a million dollars?

I have been reading Neuro-linguistic Programming for Dummies. The tagline on the book is “Turn positive thoughts into positive action”. It’s a very good complement to The SecretYou can read more about NLP on Wikipedia. One of the suggested exercises is to write your obituary. Why obituary and not biography? Because a biography is about your life until the moment the text is written. The obituary is about your entire life, until your death. You want to look at the end result. So I wrote my obituary. I let myself go and was writing without judgement, whatever was coming out. Whoa. Was I ever surprised. I found out why I was sensing I am going to have a lot of money. I need it for my project. You see, my ultimate dream, my true passion is to guide people to realize their dreams, to follow their heart and their gut, on a really, really big scale. 

Right now, the world is opening its eyes to new possibilities, bigger possibilities. The adults are just starting to learn about this. We need to teach this to kids, so they can grow up fulfilling their dreams, by doing that they will teach their children, and their children, and so on. Kids are learning all they need to know about math, language, physics, etc in schools. What about life? What about following your instincts? I want schools to coach children about this ‘new’ life. So that’s my ultimate goal. 

In my obituary, I wrote not only about making inspiring films that are recognized worldwide and are helping the world believe in the ‘impossible’, but also about the “Natasha Jetté Foundation” that implemented the “Strong Heart, Mind, and Soul” program in schools internationally.

I don’t feel guilty about having lots of money anymore.

Comments»

1. indian matrimonials - February 2, 2008

really nice one and keep it up!

http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

2. pangginga - February 2, 2008

I also am scared and still in the process of working on it. I have to work on the thought that “I deserve to have money” because somehow I don’t feel that I do. Weird.

3. rationalpsychic - February 3, 2008

I’m working on this one myself. I know it has to do with self-esteem. Then my debt and inability to do more for my children (after a divorce) just seem to reinforce this idea that I’ll never have any money.

Thanks for writing about this. Any more practical ideas on the issue would be most welcome.

4. ضَرَبان - February 3, 2008

I will to know much more tx:-)

5. Ilya Sitnikov - February 3, 2008

I think that I would prefer stable/interesting job to bigger paycheck.

It seems that no matter how much money you’re getting, its never enough. While ideally it would be lovely to combine both huge paycheck and job that you like, its rarely the case – a lot of times, you’re either doing things that you love for little money or stuff that you don’t like for little money, hehe.

6. Ilya Sitnikov - February 3, 2008

As far as University/Academia goes…

It seems that a lot of times, University act as a shelter against real world. You see – its always easy to hide somewhere in the back of the classroom and sit through lectures and go home and forget what you were told.

Indeed, its up to a student to explore real world on his/her own, but I do think that more colleges should make gap between Academia and Real World smaller, not wider.

7. ekettle - February 4, 2008

This guilt about making money is such a mental block, an invisible barrier which tells me I’m not capable of producing something of value to someone else, not smart enough to write a business plan and carry it out, and not worthy of working for myself. It’s such a bunch of crap.

Personally I was raised to never ask for money, and as a consequence was not taught the value of money or even the need for it, as if it was beneath me. GOD would provide for my needs, and that’s all there was to it. Today I have plenty of ideas but lack the courage to launch into business, despite a strong entrepreneurial urge. It still feels like a strange thing to do. I’m all for having faith, but there’s no shame in wanting to trade something for money.

Just a quick comment @ Ilya that “no matter how much money you’re getting, it’s never enough.” I just don’t see how that has to be the case. First of all, never enough for what? If a person has no goals in life, having money isn’t going to do much good. Money is just the medium through which goals are accomplished; it opens new and different opportunities and offers access to a host of tools which would not otherwise be available. Greed will get you hooked on the process of making money just to hoard it away, but even that can be a positive thing. Just look at Warren Buffett’s business success and how he uses it. Wanting is not necessarily a bad thing, as it drives us to be creative and industrious.

This is such an interesting topic as so much revolves around money, such as availability and use of time, the effects on the family, life goals and ambitions, economic progress, etc…

8. Ilya Sitnikov - February 4, 2008

@ekettle

What I meant is that no matter how much some people are making, they never seem to be satisfied.

I don’t think that its necessarily a sin when you want to make a lot of money, but at the same time there are plenty of cases where being millionaire didn’t made one’s life better or more satisfying.

9. greenlavender - February 4, 2008

Happiness lies in so much more than the amount of money one has. Happiness is a choice. Whether it is present when one has no money or a lot of money is irrelevant. Happiness is found within one’s self.

Encountering an unhappy rich person often creates a belief that money does not bring happiness, therefore one shouldn’t concentrate on making it. But really, this rich person is unhappy not because they have a lot of money, it is because they do not know who they truly are.

Another strong belief about money is that money=greed=bad. If you hold such a belief, look at the world’s great leaders, the ones that have accomplished great things in this world. It might help in realizing that what you choose to do with money is what defines greed or generosity. It always remains a choice.

Much love,
Natasha

10. adeliciouslife - February 4, 2008

So many people have limiting beliefs around money, and they don’t even realize that those beliefs are ones they adopted from other people. And you’re right – it’s not about just having more money but having a strong “why” behind it so that you can attract what you need. Great post.

11. mariacristina - February 4, 2008

Bring it!

12. Mama Kelly - February 5, 2008

I have recently resumed making use of affirmations because I need to take charge of controlling the creation of my own reality. I deserve a brighter tomorrow – as do we all!

13. scott - October 25, 2008

The majority of the world hasn’t got enough food to eat or a doctor of any kind to help sustain them. do they deserve that? have they ever even had any sort of opportunity or even seen a book before? here we all want enough money to feed us a million lifetimes over, and yet other human beings are dying for no other reason than being born where they were born.Is it karma? would you give your extra shirt, or the shirt off your back to someone in need? if you have a charity foundation, that is like giving 10% percent of your greed pile. whatever helps you sleep at night with that fine wine and fila minon in your belly. I struggle more than most with this issue for different reasons. Im not saying it is right or wrong to want money. Just how I feel, and that is guilty. happiness is a smile shared with another, or nature, or just being. I wish everyday I was the man who wrote this comment.

14. greenlavender - November 1, 2008

Dear Scott,

You wish you were the man who wrote this comment, I wish for you to look at yourself in the mirror and find the strength to say “I love you”. To love yourself, appreciate yourself, and find yourself worthy of living your life fully. Only then can you begin to achieve balance in your life, in all aspects, including financially. When your life is balanced, only then can you truly help others.

If we wish the world to be perfectly balanced, with everyone having the opportunity for abundance, we have to begin with ourselves. When we learn how to be abundant, we gather the knowledge needed to teach others.

Wishing you abundance… because you are worthy of it.

Much love,
Natasha

15. Martin Jutras - July 25, 2009

Great article, I really love it. Money is a reflexion of the person ‘using’ it, nothing more. Not good, not bad, just a tool to help you realize your dreams. It is one of the many branches of our tree of life.


Leave a Reply

