jump to navigation

Why? February 5, 2008

Posted by greenlavender in Inspiration, Life, New age, Personal, Spirituality.
trackback

For the longest time, I thought life was simple. You are born, you live, you die. While you live, you go through joys, sorrows, pains, fears, love, sadness,… then you die. For the longest time, I also asked myself the question: “why?”. Why am I scared when I am by myself? Why is that kid bullying me? Why am I attracted to that person and not the next one? Why am I taught that God forgives everything but if I dare sin, I’ll go to hell? Why are some people poor and some rich? Why am I hurt when someone tells me something but the next person feels nothing upon hearing the same words? Why do I believe people expect so much of me? Why am I capable of raising kids when I don’t have all the answers? Why do things go right when I want them to, and they go wrong when I believe them to? Why am I happy one moment and sad the next? Why do I live in Canada and not in Irak? Why am I in this body? Why am I here?

When you ask, the Universe responds. But only when you choose to listen and accept the answers that are given to you.

I had been asking myself the ‘why’ questions for many, many years, but had yet to receive answers, so I came to the conclusion that I would know everything only when I die. That’s what I thought, until I realized I wasn’t ready to know the answers. I was too caught up in my life drama, in my head, trying to figure things out. There’s nothing to figure out. When I started letting go, accepting ‘what is’ without judging whether it’s good or bad, I started getting answers to my questions. I could ‘see’ the answers, but only when I got out of my mind, free of thoughts, sitting in my soul.

We are so afraid to miss a beat that we constantly fill our minds and our time with what we think are ‘productive images and actions’, but in reality, these productive images and actions are like white noise covering up the truth. They keep us so busy that we don’t see what’s in front of us.

I try to imagine what life was like before I knew what I know today, but I can’t see it. Or, I don’t want to see it. I’m 33 years old and I would not go back in time. Today is THE day. This moment is THE moment. There is nothing else but this moment.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

