jump to navigation

Where Have I Been? June 13, 2008

Posted by greenlavender in Acting, Life, Ottawa, Personal.
trackback

I have been away from my blog for quite a while now and I apologize to my readers for the wait. Here’s an update:

Since May 5, I have been working as a stand-in on a TV show called Family Biz (aka Dad’s In The Attic), shooting here in Ottawa (Canada). It is my first time working as stand-in and let me say that I have learned that every actor should be a stand-in at least once in their career! Being on set while the crew is setting up a shot lets me learn so much I could not possibly learn as a performer. It is definitely going to help me improve the ‘technical side’ of my acting now that I understand better why directors ask actors to do things that don’t always seem to make sense. It will also help me tremendously when making my own films (did I mention I finished writing my first feature film? 😉 ).

I am working on set until the end of August, so it’s an exciting (and very busy) summer. It’s like I am being paid to be in film school. It’s the best way to learn (for me anyway).

As a stand-in, I spend lots of time waiting on set and I have to remain focussed in case they need me at any moments’ notice. To stay focussed, I make sure I am present, in the moment, always observing what is going on around me. I can tell you I notice A LOT. I have noticed people’s reactions to comments made on set, what they look at, how they feel, even what they are thinking. It’s amazing how much you can learn when you are truly present. I will elaborate on a few observations at a later date. For now, I need to go get some shut eye.

Much love!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

