jump to navigation

When Life Throws You A Curve Ball and You Love It! August 10, 2010

Posted by greenlavender in Acting, Personal.
trackback

I had my life all planned out:

  • Quit my government job to pursue acting
  • Start my web design and consultation company to pay the bills until I get acting gigs
  • Work my butt off to get acting jobs
  • Get an acting gig that will allow me to get more acting gigs
  • Produce and direct my short screenplays
  • Stop doing web design and consultation
  • Get more acting gigs
  • Produce and direct feature films

Where am I now?

I have:

  • Quit my government job to pursue acting
  • Started my web design and consultation company to pay the bills until I get acting gigs
  • Worked my butt off to get acting jobs (the work my butt off part is done and keeps going)
  • Started another government job… HUH?

Yup, I’ve gone back to the government. You know the expression “be careful what you wish for ’cause you just might get it?” Ok, that’s the PD’s version but you know the one I’m talking about. Well, it’s true. Before quitting the government, I had told myself that if I could find a web business analyst job that was exciting, with a great team, I would stay. I didn’t find it… then. Last October, surprise! After quite a few months of focussing strictly on acting and tired of being broke, I realized I was pushing things. I wasn’t ready yet for a full-time acting career and that’s why it hadn’t happened. You see, when you force your life to go a certain way, things don’t go so smoothly. So, I started looking for web business analyst contracts for the … drum roll… GOVERNMENT!

And so I found one. You know what the best part is? With the same division I was previously. Part of the team had remained, which was awesome, and the new ones just as awesome. I am having a blast. I never saw it coming.

What about my acting career? Well, my new boss was a great colleague back in 2007 when I quit. She is fully aware of my dream and also very supportive. I am free to go to auditions when opportunities arise.

Because I love my job, I don’t feel desperate about getting acting gigs anymore, so I feel I can be selective. I know the day will come when I get that ideal role, that role I ask for every day. I feel it in my gut. It will happen when I am ready, when it is meant to be.  I keep promoting myself and I am currently developing a strategy to get myself noticed. I also keep working on my screenplays.

I’ve got it all! What can I say? Oh, and I’m not broke anymore. 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment